What Is a “Hit and Run” Accident?
A “hit and run” accident occurs when a driver of one of the vehicles involved either flees the scene of the accident or fails to properly identify himself/herself. No matter how big or small the accident, it is always a crime in California to leave the scene of an accident without having exchanged the required information.
California Vehicle Code section 16025 Hit and Run
California Vehicle Code section 16025 makes it a crime to leave the scene of an accident without providing the following information (except under special circumstances, such as being too injured):
- Your name
- Your address
- Drivers license number
- Vehicle ID number (in your registration)
- Name and address of the registered owner of the vehicle
- Insurance information
Can I Still Be Fully Compensated for My Property Damage and Injuries if the Other Driver Fled the Scene?
If the driver who fled is unable to be found, the damage you can be compensated for depends on your insurance policy coverage. If you have collision coverage, your insurance will cover your property damage. If you have Medpay coverage, your insurance will be for any medical bills you incurred. Keep in mind, however, that Medpay will only cover the direct costs of your medical bills, and it will not compensate you for lost wages, pain, and suffering, or emotional distress caused by the accident.
If you have uninsured (UM) coverage, your insurance will pay for your bodily injury claim which includes future medical, as well as pain and suffering. Depending on your limits, your uninsured motorist coverage will be able to provide coverage for injuries sustained by you and your passengers.
What Are the Criminal Penalties for Committing a Hit and Run in California?
California Vehicle Code sections 20002 and 16025 make it illegal to flee the scene of an accident and withhold the required identification and insurance information from the other parties involved.
CVC 16025 Information Required to Disclose in an Accident
CVC 16025, requires drivers must share and exchange insurance information. A CVC 16025 offense is considered an infraction in California and is punishable by a fine of up to $250.
CVC 20002 Hit and Run
CVC 20002 makes it illegal to flee the scene of an accident where there is only damage to property and no injuries. It is considered a misdemeanor in California, however, it is common for these cases to be dropped, if the defendant pays financial restitution for the damages.
What are the Penalties CVC 20002 Hit and Run Conviction?
The penalties for violating CVC 20002 can include:
- Up to 6 months in a county jail
- A maximum fine of $1,000
What are the Penalties CVC 20001 Hit and Run With Injuries or Death Conviction?
CVC 20001 makes it a crime to flee the scene of an accident where there are injuries or death. This is a felony offense in California that is punishable by:
- Up to 4 years in a state prison
- A maximum fine of $10,000
California Personal Injury Attorney
Are you in need of legal assistance involving a hit-and-run accident in California? If you or a loved one was a victim of a hit-and-run accident, we invite you to contact our office at 310-933-5171 and speak to our Glendale personal injury attorney.