Our No-Fee Promise: You Don’t Pay Unless We Win

  1. Home
  2.  » Personal Injury FAQs

Answering Your Questions After Experiencing An Injury

After suffering a personal injury, it is common to have a lot of questions about what comes next. Filing a lawsuit can be overwhelming, so allow our legal team at KAASS LAW to help you through this difficult time. We have decades of combined experience representing clients throughout California, Texas, Washington, D.C., and New York.

To help you get the information you need as soon as possible, we have answered some of the most frequently asked questions below:

What do I do after an accident?

The most important thing to do after getting in an accident is to ensure that you are safe and receive proper medical attention. Once more immediate medical needs have been addressed, it can also be helpful to collect any information or documentation you can about the accident. For example, get the name and insurance information of the person who caused your injury, if possible. Take photos or videos of your injury and anything else that is relevant — damage to your car, skid marks on the road, the wet surface of a slippery floor, a loose railing, etc.  It is vital that you speak to a qualified and experienced lawyer to determine your next steps – contact KAASS LAW at 310-933-5171 to schedule a FREE, no-obligation consultation.

How do I know if I have a case?

Every case is unique, and depends not only on who is at fault, but also how easy or hard it is to prove that fault in a legal setting. The best way to find out how strong of a case you have is to speak with our experienced personal injury attorneys, who can work with you to assess the details of the incident.

What is the minimum liability coverage required in California for auto insurance?

In California, all drivers must have auto insurance with at least the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident. This covers injuries to others caused by the policyholder or other drivers listed on the policy.
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000 per accident. Covers damage to another person’s property (vehicle, fence, or building) caused by the policyholder or other drivers listed on the policy.

It’s important to note that these are just the minimum requirements, and additional coverage may be advisable depending on your circumstances. For instance, we always recommend having uninsured motorist coverage as it provides an important safety net in situations where you’re involved in an accident with a driver without insurance or in a hit-and-run scenario. However, it’s crucial to review your insurance policy and discuss with your insurance provider to determine the best coverage options for your needs.

What should I do if I'm involved in a hit-and-run?

If you’re the victim of a hit-and-run, follow these steps:

  • Safety: Make sure you and any passengers are safe. If needed, please go to a safe area to eliminate any risk to yourself or others.
  • Law Enforcement: Report the incident to the police as soon as possible and keep the case/incident number in your records.
  • Evidence: Note details about the fleeing vehicle and take pictures of the accident scene and damages. Details can include the color and model of the car, driver description, license plate numbers, and any other distinguishing characteristics.
  • Witnesses: Get contact details of any witnesses. This should include names, phone numbers, and emails

Contact an Attorney: Contact KAASS LAW right away and do not speak to your or opposing party’s insurance representative without legal representation by us. We can be reached 24/7 at 310-933-5171.

Do I need to report the accident to my insurance company?

No reports should be made to your insurance company independently without proper legal representation. Reporting of the accident to the insurance companies should be overseen by our experienced attorneys at KAASS LAW. Our team will help you navigate through the lifecycle of the case by negotiation with insurance companies, scheduling medical treatments, auto repairs, reimbursement for damages, and any other crucial matter regarding your accident.

How long does an accident stay on my driving record?

In California, accidents typically remain on your driving record for three years from the date of the incident. However, this duration varies based on the severity of the offense. Note that the impact of an accident on your insurance premiums usually lasts for three to five years.

Disclaimer: This information is provided for general guidance and does not constitute legal or professional advice. For specific advice tailored to your situation, please consult a legal or insurance professional.

Call Us To Schedule A Free Consultation

If you have more questions about a personal injury claim, contact us today to schedule your free initial consultation. Call us at 310-933-5171 or email us here to take the first step in resolving your claim today.

Contact Us



  815 E. Colorado Street Unit 220
Glendale, CA 91205

  3837 N Fine
Fresno, CA 93727

  1008 W Avenue M14 Suite A, D12
Palmdale, CA 93552

  3480 Sunrise Blvd #101
Rancho Cordova, CA 95742

Connect With Us